Dataset: Ireland: Parliamentary Election 2002


<h4>Party abbreviations:</h4>
   <li>FF - Fianna Fáil - The Republican Party (Fianna Fáil &ndash; An Páirtí Poblachtánach)</li>
   <li>FG - Fine Gael - The United Ireland Party</li>
   <li>LP - Labour Party - (Páirtí an Lucht Oibre)</li>
   <li>PD - Progressive Democrats (An Páirtí Daonlathach)</li>     
   <li>GP - Green Party - (Comhaontas Glas)</li>
   <li>SF - Sinn Féin</li>
   <li>SP - Socialist Party</li>
   <li>CS -  Comhar Criostai - The Christian Solidarity Party</li>
   <li>SWP - Socialist Worker's Party</li>
<li>WP - The Workers' Party</li>
<li>Ind - Non-party/Independents</li>

Full Title

Ireland: Parliamentary Election 2002

Identification Number



Name Affiliation Abbreviation Role
Norwegian Social Science Data Services NSD


Date: 2009-04-01

List of Keywords

Topic Classification


Time Period Covered

Start End Cycle
1994 1994


Ireland  (IE)

Geographic Coverage

Ireland (Electoral districts/constituencies)

1 Carlow-Kilkenny
2 Cavan-Monaghan
3 Clare
4 Cork East
5 Cork North-Central
6 Cork North-West
7 Cork South-Central
8 Cork South-West
9 Donegal North-East
10 Donegal South-West
11 Dublin Central
12 Dublin North
13 Dublin North-Central
14 Dublin North-East
15 Dublin North-West
16 Dublin South
17 Dublin South-Central
18 Dublin South East
19 Dun Laoghaire
20 Galway East
21 Galway West
22 Kerry North
23 Kerry South
24 Laoghis-Offaly
25 Limerick East
26 Limerick West
27 Louth
28 Meath
29 Sligo-Leitrim
30 Tipperary North
31 Tipperary South
32 Waterford
33 Wexford
34 Wicklow
35 Dublin Mid West, South West & West
36 Longford, Roscommon & Westmeath
37 Kildare North & South
38 Mayo East & West

Geographic Unit


Unit of Analysis

Statistical/administrative unit

Kind of Data

Aggregate data

Data Collector

Norwegian Social Science Data Services  (NSD)

Mode of Data Collection

Data was downloaded on electoral district level.

Data Sources

<p>Department of the Environment & Local Government, elections page: <a target="_blank" href=""></a></p>;

<p>Houses of the Oireachtas: <a target="_blank" href="">General elections, results</a></p>

<p><a target="_blank" href=""></a></p>


The STV electoral system make this type of simplified table of election results disputable due to the preferential ballot. Here, only first preference votes are reported.  

The NUTS structure and electoral units:   
The data is reported according to the 1998 Constituencies Revision of the electoral districts. These do not correspond to the NUTS-structure.  

1998 Constituencies Revision Summary

The main changes in the Constituency Commission Report 1998 concerned Dublin Constituencies. A new 3 seater constituency of Dublin Mid West was created from parts of Dublin South West and Dublin West, and an extra seat was added to Dublin South Central to make it a five seater. Dublin North East, Dublin North West and Dublin West were reduced from four to three seats, and Dublin South West lost a seat to become a four seater.

All 11 existing Dublin constituencies were revised to some extent, and there were minor changes to 10 other constituencies across the country.

NOTE: one of the seats in Carlow Kilkenny was automatically returned to the Speaker (Seamus Pattison of LP). Counted as an independent seat.

Availability Status

Data is available free of charge

Metadata Index

This is the Metadata Index for a Nesstar Server.
Nesstar is a tool used for analysing, visualising and downloading datasets.

Click the "Explore Dataset" button to open the dataset.