Dataset: Netherlands: European Parliament Election 1994


<h4>Parties represented in the election:</h4>
   <li>CDA - Christian Democratic Appeal (Christen Democratisch Appèl (Europese Volkspartij))</li>
   <li>PvdA - Labour Party (Partij van de Arbeid (Europese Sociaaldemocraten))</li>
   <li>VVD - People's party for Freedom and Democracy (Volkspartij voor Vrijheid en Democratie)</li>
   <li>D66 - Democrats 66 (Demokraten 66)</li>
   <li>S/G/R - SGP/GPV/RPF - Politically Reformed Party/Reformed Political Union/Reforming Political Federation (Staatkundig Gereformeerde Partij/Gereformeerd Politiek&nbsp; Verbond/Reformatorische Politieke Federatie)</li>
   <li>GL - Green Left (Groenlinks)</li>
   <li>DG - The Greens (De Groenen)</li>
   <li>SP - Socialist Party (Socialistische Partij)</li>
   <li>CD - Conservative Democrats (Conservatieve Democraten)</li>
   <li>EBT - (A better future) (Een Betere Toekomst)</li>
   <li>LDG - (Lijst de Groen)</li>

Full Title

Netherlands: European Parliament Election 1994

Identification Number



Name Affiliation Abbreviation Role
Norwegian Social Science Data Services NSD


Date: 2009-04-01

List of Keywords

Topic Classification


Time Period Covered

Start End Cycle
1994 1994


Netherlands  (NL)

Geographic Coverage

Netherlands (NUTS 1, NUTS 2, NUTS 3)

NL11 Groningen
NL111 Oost-Groningen
NL112 Delfzijl en omgeving
NL113 Overig Groningen
NL12 Friesland
NL121 Noord-Friesland
NL122 Zuidwest-Friesland
NL123 Zuidoost-Friesland
NL13 Drenthe
NL131 Noord-Drenthe
NL132 Zuidoost-Drenthe
NL133 Zuidwest-Drenthe
NL21 Overijssel
NL211 Noord-Overijssel
NL212 Zuidwest-Overijssel
NL213 Twente
NL22 Gelderland
NL221 Veluwe
NL224 Zuidwest-Gelderland
NL225 Achterhoek
NL226 Arnhem/Nijmegen
NL23 Flevoland
NL230 Flevoland
NL31 Utrecht
NL310 Utrecht
NL32 Noord-Holland
NL321 Kop van Noord-Holland
NL322 Alkmaar en omgeving
NL323 IJmond
NL324 Agglomeratie Haarlem
NL325 Zaanstreek
NL326 Groot-Amsterdam
NL327 Het Gooi en Vechtstreek
NL33 Zuid-Holland
NL331 Agglomeratie Leiden en Bollenstreek
NL332 Agglomeratie's-Gravenhage
NL333 Delft en Westland
NL334 Oost-Zuid-Holland
NL335 Groot-Rijnmond
NL336 Zuidoost-Zuid-Holland
NL34 Zeeland
NL341 Zeeuwsch-Vlaanderen
NL342 Overig Zeeland
NL41 Noord-Brabant
NL411 West-Noord-Brabant
NL412 Midden-Noord-Brabant
NL413 Noordoost-Noord-Brabant
NL414 Zuidoost-Noord-Brabant
NL42 Limburg
NL421 Noord-Limburg
NL422 Midden-Limburg
NL423 Zuid-Limburg
NLZ EXTRA-REGIO (abroad votes/postal votes)
NLZZ Extra-Regio
NLZZZ Extra-Regio

Geographic Unit


Unit of Analysis

Statistical/administrative unit

Kind of Data

Aggregate data

Data Collector

Norwegian Social Science Data Services  (NSD)

Mode of Data Collection

Data was provided at NUTS 5 (gemeente) level. Aggregation was compiled by NSD.

Data Sources

<p>Statistics Netherlands: <a target="_blank" href=""></a></p>;

<p>Election data was provided by Algie Lefeber at the Statistics Netherlands (CBS) by e-mail, 29.11.05.</p>

<p>Source with regard to the link between Netherlands gemeenten and the NUTS 3 structure, see the StatLine database at <a target="_blank" href=""></a></p>.  
<p>Additional information regarding gemeenten that existed in the 1994 elections but ceased to exist prior to 1996 was provided by Algie Lefeber at the Statistics Netherlands (CBS) by e-mail, 02.12.05.</p>


Postal votes: Postal votes were in the 1994 parliamentary election treated separately. Postal voting results are reported at national level.  
Central Government Inspectorate: Until 1 October 1994 a limited number of inhabitants were registered by the Central Government Inspectorate of population registers (CPR). This central population register included persons without fixed abodes but belonging to the 'de jure' population. Since 29 September 1994 these persons are recorded in the population register of the municipality of Hague. Only the number of eligible voters are reported for the unit of CPR.  

NUTS structure and electoral units: The Netherlands remains undivided for national and EP elections. For statistical purposes, the country is divided into 40 NUTS 3 units. Slight changes with respect to the municipality structure have occured (see details below) which ought to be taken into consideration if results are analyzed at this level.  

Regarding municipality changes: An overview of the link between gemeente and coropgebieden (which equals the NUTS 3 units) from 1996 and onwards is provided in the StatLine data base of Statistics Netherlands. 16 more municipalities existed in the 1994 EP election. Below is a list over these municipalities and the coropgebieden (NUTS 3) region to which they belong (municipality number - municipality name - corpogebieden/NUTS 3 belonging)
314 - Cothen - Utrecht
325 - Langbroek - Utrecht
648 - Aardenburg - Zeeuwsch-Vlaandern
682 - Kortgene - Ovrig Zeeland
712 - Sint Philipsland - Overig Zeeland
713 - Sluis - Zeeuwsch-Vlaandern
727 - Wissenkerke - Overig Zeeland
752 - Berlicum - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
761 - Cuijk en St. Agatha - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
768 - Den Dungen - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
776 - Esch - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
791 - Heesch - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
795 - Helvoirt - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
806 - Liempde - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
839 - Rosmalen - Noordoost-Noord Brabant
956 - Posterholt - Midden-Limburg
1691 - St. Anthonis - Noordoost-Noord Brabant

Availability Status

Data is available free of charge

Metadata Index

This is the Metadata Index for a Nesstar Server.
Nesstar is a tool used for analysing, visualising and downloading datasets.

Click the "Explore Dataset" button to open the dataset.